National Cycle Network


Below is a selection of photos I have taken while using the National Cycle Network.

National Cycle Network 1 (NCR 1)

National Route 1 of the National Cycle Network is a long distance cycle route connecting Dover and the Shetland Islands mainly via the east coast of England and Scotland. The stretch of Route 1 between Harwich and the Shetland Islands forms the entire British part of the long-distance EuroVelo 12 route known as the North Sea Cycle Route, linking Britain, via Bergen in Norway and the Hook of Holland, to other countries that share a coastline on the North Sea.




More information about route 1 can be found @

National Cycle Network 4 (NCR 4)

A long distance route between London and Fishguard via Reading, Bath, Bristol, Newport, Swansea, Carmarthen, Tenby, Haverfordwest and St. Davids.



More information about route 4 can be found @

National Cycle Network 7 (NCR 7)

National Route 7 links Sunderland and Inverness. It forms two-thirds of the famous Sea to Sea (C2C) cycle route before heading north to Glasgow via the Ayrshire coast and Glen Trool Forest, before passing through two National Parks – Loch Lomond & The Trossachs and Cairngorms.

Cycling in Queen Elizabeth Forest ParkP5240271P5240272P5240273

PA110539National Cycle Network sign post

More information about route 7 can be found @

National Cycle Network 12 (NCR 12)

When complete, this route will run from Enfield Lock in north London to Spalding via Stevenage, St Neots and Peterborough.

Somewhere on NCR 12Somewhere on NCR 12p7200059

More information about route 12 can be found @

National Cycle Network 15 (NCR 15)

This route will connect National Route 6 in Belton, near Shepshed Leicestershire with National Route 1 in Lincolnshire near Coningsby, via Nottingham, Grantham and Sleaford.





More information about route 15 can be found @

National Cycle Network 48 (NCR 48)

National Route 48 of the National Cycle Network will run from Lincoln to Exeter with optional extensions over Dartmoor to Plymouth Hoe and northwards to Spurn Point.



More information about route 48 can be found @

National Cycle Network 63 (NCR 63)

National Cycle Route 63 runs from Burton on Trent to Wisbech.

Cold Overton Road / Oakham Road / The CarriagewayRabobank Cycling Team kitDSC02771DSC02772



More information about route 63 can be found @

National Cycle Network 64 (NCR 64)

National Route 64 of the National Cycle Network will run from Market Harborough to Lincoln via Melton Mowbray and Newark-on-Trent. Most of the route is complete and signed with the major gap being around Bottesford.



More information about route 64 can be found @

National Cycle Network 71 (NCR 71)

National Route 71 of the National Cycle Network makes up the western third of the C2C route between Whitehaven or Workington and Blencow (Penrith). It continues south east from Penrith via Appleby-in-Westmorland and Northallerton to meet National Route 65 – the White Rose Cycle Route – at Kirby Knowle in Yorkshire.



More information about route 71 can be found @

National Cycle Network 74 (NCR 74)

National Route 74 of the National Cycle Network will connect Gretna and Glasgow via Lockerbie and Abington.


More information about route 74 can be found @

National Cycle Network 680 (NCR 680)

Route 680 is known as The Monsal Trail – a cycle, horse riding and walking trail in the Derbyshire Peak District.



More information about route 680 can be found @

All the photos above and many more from the National Cycle Network can be found at

Updated : 04/03/2015

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: